Press "Enter" to skip to content

2023: Folarin defeats Adelabu, others to emerge Oyo APC gov candidate

Senator Teslim Folarin

By Olugbenga Adeolu

The Senator currently representing Oyo Central Senatorial District at the Senate, Senator Teslim Folarin, has won the Oyo State governorship primary election of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Folarin emerged the APC candidate for the 2023 governorship election in Oyo State, after defeating five other aspirants who partook in the primary election held, on Friday, at Obafemi Awolowo Stadium, formerly Liberty Stadium, in Ibadan, Oyo State.

ALSO READ: Supporters launch crowdfunding for Osinbajo presidential run with #BankOnOsinbajo hashtag

In the election, Folarin polled 954 votes, leaving Bayo Adelabu with 327 votes, Azeez Adeduntan, with two votes, Akeem Alao, with six votes, Hakeem Agbaje, with 16 votes and 11 votes were counted invalid.

Earlier before the election began, Niyi Akintola had pulled out of the primary election, while he petitioned the APC leadership, saying holding the election a day after the day fixed by the party is invalid, while also alleging that the delegates’ list had been tampered with.

Six aspirants who obtained forms had been screened by the party, but four of them were present at the venue of the primary, while Adelabu stayed away.

This post was originally published on this site

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.