Press "Enter" to skip to content

Pakistan v England: seventh men’s T20 and series decider — live

4th over: England 39-0 (Hales 18, Salt 20) Rauf in and while he’s got proper pace, he’s very tidy with those slower balls into the surface. It’s a quiet over, one Pakistan needed.

3rd over: England 35-0 (Salt 18, Hales 16) The spin of Nawaz is replaced by the pace of Wasim. Hales doesn’t get the middle of the bat with a swat down the ground, but the ball seems to be heading for four until Haris Rauf pulls off a stunning one-handed stop. Top effort from the big man. But Hales gets four the next ball, guiding it to the third-man boundary. And then another boundary! Hales flicks off the stumps to find four more at midwicket. Make that three in a row! Full from Wasim and Hales goes through the covers. Awesome batting.

2nd over: England 20-0 (Salt 17, Hales 2) Hasnain into the attack and another four for Salt! He’s racing. But that’s a good comeback from the young quick, who gets a bit of lift off the deck to beat the bat second ball. Three singles follow before Hales digs out a fuller ball to mid-on for none. Good wheels from Hasnain.

1st over: England 13-0 (Salt 11, Hales 1) Salt rocks back and cloths the first ball down the ground for a couple, and then follows that up with a cut for four. A leg-bye gets Hales on strike, and he clips to mid-on for a single. And then Salt smashes the ball over mid-on for four. A leading edge that falls safe rounds off an eventful first set. Top start for England.

Let’s get going. Mohammad Nawaz is going to open up for Pakistan with his left-arm tweak.


Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain

England: Phil Salt (wk), Alex Hales, Dawid Malan, Ben Duckett, Harry Brook, Moeen Ali (c), Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, David Willey, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley

We will bat first after losing the toss!

🇵🇰#PAKvENG 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 | @IGCom

— England Cricket (@englandcricket) October 2, 2022

Babar Azam wins it and Pakistan will bowl first. Dew’s a key factor in that decision. Four changes for Pakistan: Rizwan, Rauf, Hasnain and Khushdil back in.

Still no Jos Buttler for England as Moeen Ali leads once again. Just the one change for his side: Chris Woakes is in for Richard Gleeson.

Hello, hello, hello! Welcome to the seventh (!) and final T20I of this exhilarating series between England and Pakistan.

What was supposed to just be a few warm-ups ahead of the World Cup in Australia has turned into heaps of fun. There was that stunning century from Babar Azam. There was the grand arrival of Harry Brook. The extraordinary consistency of Mohammad Rizwan. The rockets of Mark Wood. The rockets of Haris Rauf. Sweep-mania from Ben Duckett. And, of course, some magnificent crowds in a country that has been waiting a long time for this series.

And we’re set up perfectly too, with the scores level at 3-3. This is going to be a cracker. Drop me a line whenever you fancy – I’ll be back in a bit with the toss and line-ups.

This post was originally published on this site

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.